Chapter 10


          On 29 November 1947 On 29 November 1947 the United Nations voted to partition Palestine and establish two states, a Jewish state and an Arab state, one alongside the other.

At the end of that same year and during the first half of 1948 the Currency Board moved the currency reserves from Palestine to Britain and closed the currency centres across the country.

In the second half of 1948, the currency notes became “Notes without a Country”, and in effect served as legal tender in three separate areas: the State of Israel, Trans-Jordan, and the Gaza Strip, until they were eventually demonetised in 1951.

In 1952 the Palestine Currency Board was dissolved.


Web design | Ecommerce - ATPLOGIC  ATPLOGIC